Nashville Independent Music Publishers Award

The Nashville chapter of the Association of Independent Music Publishers also named Hillary Lindsey songwriter of the year and Ashley McBryde artist-writer of the year.

Lee Brice’s “One of Them Girls” was named song of the year by the Nashville chapter of the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP). Brice co-wrote the song, which topped the Country Airplay chart and reached No. 2 on Hot Country Songs, with Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson and Dallas Davidson.

In other top awards, Hillary Lindsey won songwriter of the year, Ashley McBryde won artist-writer of the year and Big Machine won publisher of the year. The awards were presented at a socially distanced event at The Listening Room Café in Nashville on Wednesday (April 27). Actor, musician and comedian Charles Esten served as host.

Brice is on a hot streak at award shows. On April 18, he won in two categories at the 56th Academy of Country Music Awards. “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” His duet with Carly Pearce, was voted single of the year and vocal event of the year.

“Last night was a reaffirmation of the Nashville independent music community and the powerful work they have done to get us through this past year,” said Ree Guyer, vice president of the AIMP Nashville chapter and co-chair of the AIMP Nashville awards. “As we approach the end of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are excited about the return of in-person songwriting sessions, writers’ rounds, and live performances, and know our winners and nominees will continue to create amazing music to soundtrack the hopefully joyous year ahead.”

“Congratulations to all the independent publishers and songwriters who won or were nominated for AIMP Nashville Awards this year!” said John Ozier, AIMP national chair and president of the AIMP Nashville Chapter. “In an unprecedented and dark time, their songs provided a light for so many…”

Here's the full list of winners.

Songwriter of the year:
Hillary Lindsey (Concord Music Publishing)

Artist-writer of the year:
Ashley McBryde (Jody Williams Songs)

Rising songwriter of the year:
Matt Alderman (Curb | Word Music Publishing)

Rising artist-writer of the year:
Ruston Kelly (Concord Music Publishing)

Publisher of the year:
Big Machine Music

Song champion of the year:
Ward Guenther (Whiskey Jam)

Song of the year:
“One of Them Girls” written by Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Dallas Davidson, Lee Brice;
Independently published by 8Minute Publishing, Artist Publishing Group, Big Blue Nation Music, Caleb’s College Fund, Play It Again Music Group, Natalia’s Music Money, Round Hill Music; recorded by Lee Brice

Publisher’s pick:
“Give Heaven Some Hell” written by Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Hunter Phelps, Michael Hardy; Independently published by Big Blue Nation Music, Caleb’s College Fund, Relative Music Group. Round Hill Music, Tape Room Music; recorded by HARDY